Jump to content

Adverts are hidden for all 'Gold Members' - sign up for just £10 a year by clicking here | Advertise here for just 25p per 1,000 impressions - click here
Welcome to Fans Focus. You are currently viewing as a guest. Please login or register to post.    

Sign in icon Sign In Register Register Help Help Login with Facebook Login with Twitter

League section covering 2,000+ clubs - check out your division and club page click here!

The FA Trophy

The Football Association Challenge Trophy, commonly known as the Buildbase FA Trophy, is run by and named after the English Football Association and competed for primarily by semi-professional teams. The competition was instigated in 1969 to cater for those non-league clubs which paid their players and were therefore not eligible to enter the FA Amateur Cup. Eligibility rules have changed over time, but from 2008 onwards the competition has been open to clubs playing in steps 1, 2, 3 & 4 of the English Pyramid, equivalent to levels 5–8 of the overall English football league system. This covers the Football Conference, the Southern League, Isthmian League, and Northern Premier League.

The final of the competition is held at Wembley Stadium. The record for the most FA Trophy wins is shared by Woking and two defunct clubs, Scarborough and Telford United, with three victories each.

The Trophy is currently held by FC Halifax Town who beat Grimsby Town 1-0 in the 2016 Final on 22 May.

Please click on a year below to see all the fixtures and results from that year in the FA Trophy

2015/16 Rounds | 2016/17 Rounds

This page - Buildbase FA Trophy | England was updated 5th August 2015

View New Posts

List of all CLUBS on Fans Focus