Jump to content
Welcome to the new software - Please read! Read more... ×
Fans Focus - Non League football clubs
Sign in to follow this  

2008 Tour de France thread.........

Recommended Posts

16:43 - Along with the yellow jersey the GC lead goes to Feillu, 35 seconds from Longo, and a 1'42 from FRISCHKORN. Valverde is fourth at 1'45, in front of Kirchen, Freire, Pineau, Millar, Evans and Pozzato. You have to think that either Millar, Evans, Kirchen, Valverde, or even Cancellara (1'53) will be wearing the yellow jersey at the end of tomorrow's time trial with the gap at just 1'45.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

16:49 - But today belongs to the French, as Samuel Dumoulin of Cofidis claims a stunning break-away victory and Romain Feillu (Agritubel) wins the yellow jersey. This sort of shake-up is just what Tour organisers wanted, and you know what they got it.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Carlos Sastre wins 17th stage of Tour de France to take yellow jersey from Frank Schleck.


I still fancy Cadel Evans to win.....where is the West, honestly, you leave someone to do a job, and he lets you down duck

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

After Stage 17


Stage 17 results, Embrun to L'Alpe-d'Huez (210.5km):


1. Carlos Sastre (Spain/Team CSC) 6hrs 7min 58sec

2. Samuel Sanchez (Spain/Euskalte) +2min 3 sec

3. Andy Schleck (Luxembourg/Team CSC) same time

4. Alejandro Valverde (Spain/Caisse d'Epargne) +2min 13sec

5. Frank Schleck (Luxembourg/Team CSC) same time

6. Vladimir Efimkin (Russia/AG2R) +2min 15sec

7. Cadel Evans (Australia/Silence-Lotto) same time

8. Denis Menchov (Russia/Rabobank) same time

9. Christian Vande Velde (US/Garmin - Chipotle) same time

10. Bernhard Kohl (Austria/Gerolsteiner) same time


Selected other:


118. David Millar (GB/Garmin) +38min


Overall standings (after 17 stages):


1. Carlos Sastre (Spa/CSC) 74hrs 39min 3sec

2. Frank Schleck (Lux/CSC) +1min 24sec

3. Bernhard Kohl (Aut/GST) +1min 33sec

4. Cadel Evans (Aus/SIL) +1 min 34 sec

5. Denis Menchov (Rus/RAB) +2min 39sec

6. Christian Vandevelde (US/GAR) +4min 41sec

7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/GCE) + 5min 35sec

8. Samuel Sanchez (Spa/EUS) + 5mins 52sec

9. Tadej Valjavec (Slovenia/AG2R) +8min 10sec

10. Vladimir Efimkin (Russia / AG2R ) +8min 24sec


Selected other:


71. David Millar (GB/Garmin) +2hr 00min 16sec


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Originally Posted By: Greg_Dyke
Frank Schleck was Luxembourgian Sportspeople of the Year in 2006

Is he a Schizorphrenic then?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Good evening !

I am not the real Steve West and welcome to the Tour rundown, for 24th July


Burkhart (see above) won today, but Sastre still leads overall


1. SASTRE Carlos

2. SCHLECK Frank + 01' 24"

3. KOHL Bernhard + 01' 33"

4. EVANS Cadel + 01' 34"

5. MENCHOV Denis + 02' 39"

6. VANDEVELDE Christian + 04' 41"

7. VALVERDE Alejandro + 05' 35"

8. SANCHEZ Samuel + 05' 52"


Millar is 71st !!!




Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Final Standings just in from France...


1. Carlos Sastre (Spain/ Team CSC) 87hr 52min 52secs

2. Cadel Evans (Australia/ Silence - Lotto) +58secs

3. Bernhard Kohl (Austria/ Gerolsteiner) +1min 13secs

4. Denis Menchov (Russia/ Rabobank ) +2min 10secs

5. Christian Vande Velde (USA/ Garmin - Chipotle) +3min 05secs

6. Frank Schleck (Luxembourg/ Team CSC) +4min 28secs

7. Samuel Sanchez (Spain/ Euskaltel) +6min 25secs

8. Kim Kirchen (Luxembourg/ Columbia) +6min 55secs

9. Alejandro Valverde (Spain/ Caisse d'Epargne) +7min 12secs

10. Tadej Valjavec (Slovenia/ AG2R ) +9mins 5secs


Selected other:


68. David Millar (Britain/ Garmin - Chipotle) +1hr 59mins 39secs

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this